The Old Liberty Schoolhouse is a bed and breakfast with two suites in an old schoolhouse that has been beautifully remodeled.
The Old Liberty Schoolhouse B&B was originally a school from 1917 to 1942. It was a place where children would learn, laugh and play each day. The original "acting bar", a bar across two tree stumps where the children played, can still be seen today. The schoolhouse was a gathering place in the community. It was also utilized for town meetings, weddings, and plays when school was not in session.
The original school was a three room building started in 1916 and completed in 1917. The West side was free of windows to keep the schoolhouse from getting too hot in the summer sun. When the Schoolhouse was purchased by a private owner after closing as a school, a gable roof, plumbing, electricity, knotty pine walls, and eventually a large garage were added.
A dam was built on the left fork of the Trinity River, creating Eagle Mountain Lake in 1932. Eagle Mountain Lake is now a popular destination for lake activities, such as fishing and boating. The Fort Worth Boat Club hosts an Annual Regatta at Eagle Mountain Lake in the spring.
Take a step back in time, and escape to a simpler time, at the Old Liberty schoolhouse.